University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Institutional Review Board (IRB)





Pamela I. Erickson, Ph.D. Chair, IRB (860) 486-5123
Douglas Bradway, M.A., CIP IRB Program Director (860) 486-0986
Joan Levine, MPH, CIP Post Approval Monitor (860) 486-7145
Jerome McMurray, M.A. IRB Specialist (860) 486-5736
Dana Wine IRB Administrator (860) 486-3619
eRA Help Desk InfoEd Technical Assistance (860) 486-7944


IRB Members

The IRB is composed of members of the University community and the local community. The individual members contribute the professional competency necessary to review specific research activities representing a broad range of disciplines through experience and expertise in their fields. In addition, the IRB seeks diversity in race, gender and cultural backgrounds to promote sensitivity to community attitudes and respect for the rights and welfare of human subjects. If you are interested in serving on the IRB, contact the IRB Office. For more information about membership on the IRB please see the Policy and Procedures Manual.

The fully convened IRB meets approximately every three weeks on the Storrs campus and is made up of the following members:

IRB Chair: Pamela I. Erickson, Ph.D.
Phone: (860) 486-1736
Fax: (860) 486-1044
IRB Vice-Chair: TBD
Douglas Bradway, M.A., CIP
Research Compliance Services
Jessica Contreras, M.S.
Psychological Sciences/Graduate Student Member
William Dennett, M.A.
Community/Unaffiliated Member
Pamela Erickson, Ph.D.
Deborah Fein, Ph.D.
Psychological Sciences
Michael Fendrich, Ph.D.
School of Social Work
Ethel Mantzaris, B.A
Community/Unaffiliated Member (Prisoner Representative)
Lisa Sanetti, Ph.D.
Educational Psychology
Diana M. Sobieraj, Pharm.D.
Pharmacy Practice
Martha Sternberg-Ennis, M.D.
Student Health Services
 Jaci L. VanHeest, Ph.D.
Educational Psychology

Alternate IRB Members