University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut


The IBC consists of University faculty and community representatives. The individual members contribute the professional competency necessary to review specific research activities representing a broad range of disciplines through experience and expertise in their fields.

The fully convened IBC meetings take place at least quarterly on the Storrs campus and is made up of the following members:

IBC Chair: Spencer Nyholm, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Molecular and Cell Biology

IBC Vice Chair: Mary Anne Amalaradjou, Ph.D., D.V.M. Assistant Professor, Animal Science

Alfredo Angeles-Boza, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Christopher Blesso, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Nutritional Sciences

Wesley Byerly, Pharm.D. (ex officio) Associate Vice President for Research Integrity and Regulatory Affairs

David Cavallaro, MS, CBSP (voting ex officio) Institutional Biosafety Officer, Environmental Health & Safety

Terri Dominguez, MSPH, CSP (ex officio) Director, Environmental Health & Safety

Rimantas Kirvelevicius (voting ex officio) Assistant Director, Animal Care Services

Bobbie Macierowski Non-Affiliated Community Member, Connecticut State Dept. of Health

Alexander Walsh, Ph.D., D.V.M. Non-Affiliated Community Member, Retired Veterinary Pathologist

Yaowu Yuan, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology