University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

The University of Connecticut-Storrs Institutional Review Board is responsible for the review of all human subjects research conducted at or by the UConn-Storrs Campus, the five regional campuses, the School of Law and the School of Social Work.

The IRB seeks to create a collaborative relationship with the research community to assure that research with human subjects is conducted in accordance with legal requirements and ethical principles of Respect for Persons, Beneficence and Justice. These principles require the balancing of risks to subjects against the scientific knowledge to be gained and the potential benefits to subjects and society.

The IRB also focuses on the informed consent process to assure that subject participation in research is voluntary.

IRB Meeting Dates & Deadlines

Only higher risk studies are reviewed by the Full IRB at a meeting. The deadlines only apply to those studies. Minimal risk studies can be submitted to the IRB office at any time. For questions regarding the risk-level of a study contact the IRB office.

Deadlines for paper and electronic submissions are 4:30PM.

Please note: If you are making an electronic submission, you must complete your department’s internal review process by the 4:30PM deadlines.

Deadlines for IRB Meeting Protocol Submissions Meeting Dates
Thursday, December 22, 2016 Thursday, January 5, 2017  Note:  No review of Biomedical Research
Thursday, January 12, 2017 Thursday, January 26, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017 Thursday, February 16, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017 Thursday, March 9, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017 Thursday, March 30, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017 Thursday, April 20, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017 Thursday, May 11, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017 Thursday, June 1, 2017
Thursday, June 8, 2017 Thursday, June 22, 2017

IRB Help Sessions

  1. If you need help with an IRB protocol application, call us and make an appointment. We can no longer offer Drop-in Help or accommodate people who just stop by.
  2. Before you can make an appointment, please attend a group IRB Help Session.  Many of your questions may be covered during this session.
  3. Group IRB-Help Sessions will answer your basic questions and give you tips about the IRB Application forms, Amendments, Consent Forms, Site Permission letters, Interview Guides, etc.

All IRB Help Sessions are held in Whetten Graduate Center, Giolas Conference Room (second floor). Each session will last one hour. IRB Help Session dates are as follows:
Fall 2016 Dates

Monday, November 7, 2016  11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 29, 2016  11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Responsibility

The responsibility of the UConn-Storrs IRB is to work with the University research community to help make sure that human subjects engaged in research are:treated with dignity;adequately protected from risk of harm; and,voluntarily give informed consent to participate in research.

The IRB also follows the ethical principals found in the Belmont Report  and codified in “The Common Rule” set out in 45 CFR 46, subpart A. It also follows subparts B-D of 45 CFR 46.

Before any work may begin on a research protocol, the IRB must review and approve the research. The IRB also reviews ongoing research at least annually to help investigators ensure the continued protection of subjects. In addition, the IRB reviews all changes to research protocols before implementation. In accordance with federal regulations, the IRB has the authority to suspend or terminate approval of research that is not being conducted in accordance with the IRB’s decisions, conditions, and requirements, or that has been associated with unexpected serious harm to subjects.